Insightful tips for homesickness

Love these tips from US student Mollie in Spain.  It’s a thoughtful post and I love her suggestion to stay in town and to know yourself.  So much of “culture shock” is the stress of the unknown and you can minimize it by concentrating on what you need to relax and calm yourself, regardless of where you are.

ISA Study Abroad Student Blog

Mollie Herlockeris a student at California Lutheran University and an ISA Featured Blogger. Mollie is currently studying abroad in Salamanca, Spain on an ISA Fall 1 program.

I was intensely homesick for a week about a month after my arrival to Spain and I have struggled with some random sad and unhappy days in Salamanca this semester. This has been exacerbated by the difficulty I’ve had communicating with the people that I depend on for support because I don’t have good internet access when it is convenient for my friends and family (there’s a nine hour time difference between Spain and California). This is a list of some of the things that I’ve thought through or done to help alleviate some of the tougher times that I think might be helpful for anyone thinking of or currently studying abroad:

View original post 683 more words

About Maria

Inspired by international exchange, I teach in Spain and blog about cross cultural learning, study abroad, and global education topics.

Posted on November 28, 2012, in Advice, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

